You are here: Home Mandatory Driving School Program

Mandatory Driving School Program

The passenger vehicle driving course, entitled the Road Safety Education Program, was developed using a competency-based approach.

The course aims for learners to acquire the following competencies:

  • Establishing the profile of a safe, cooperative and responsible driver
  • Handling a passenger vehicle
  • Sharing the road
  • Using the road network independently and responsibly

The program is divided into 12 modules that alternate between classroom learning, self-study and on-road instruction. This alternating approach lets learners put the knowledge and competencies acquired in the classroom and from self-study into practice during the in-car sessions. This formula also promotes better integration of the knowledge, skills and behaviour covered in the course.

The course’s 12 modules are grouped together into 4 phases:

  • Phase 1, which is the prerequisite for a learner’s licence and includes Modules 1 to 5
  • Phase 2, which includes Modules 6 and 7, during which learners undertake their first guided driving sessions on the road
  • Phase 3, which includes Modules 8 to 10, during which learners undertake semi-guided outings on the road
  • Phase 4, which includes Modules 11 and 12, during which learners undertake increasingly independent driving on the road